Working Together to
Make a District a CommunitY

Read about the vital connections the Medical District Collaborative is making in our Annual Report.

The Chief Executive Officers and leaders of some of Memphis’ most significant healthcare and higher education institutions created a new nonprofit community development entity to direct the future of the Memphis Medical District. This entity is called the Memphis Medical District Collaborative (MMDC).

The MMDC is responsible for making the district more livable, economically prosperous, clean, and safe.

The Memphis Medical District is roughly defined as the area bordered by Poplar Avenue, I-40, Vance Avenue, Danny Thomas Boulevard, and is located between Downtown and Midtown.

The MMDC's Four Focus Areas

  • Improving the Public Realm and Built Environment
  • Coordinating Safety and Security
  • Activating and Programming the District
  • Facilitating Community Development

The MMDC focuses on four key areas: Improving the public realm and built environment, increasing safety and security, programming and marketing, and property development. The MMDC will also institute a series of programs to capture and reinvest some of the institutions' economic impact into future development and programmatic initiatives.

Who We Are


Tommy Pacello

Program & Data Director
Abby Miller

Program Manager, Real Estate
Chet Jackson


Program Associate
Dane Forlines

Program Associate
Mariko Krause

Program Associate
Celeste Rudd


Program Associate                                                                             Program Manager, Community Development
Larissa Redmond Thompson                     Vonesha Mitchell


Board of Directors

Dr. Kennard brown


Executive Vice-Chancellor, University of Tennessee Health Science Center

Dr. Betty Sue McGarvey

President, Baptist College of Health Sciences

Dr. Lewis Reich


President, Southern College of Optometry


Mr. Michael Ugwueke


CEO, Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare

Mr. Richard Shadyac Jr.

President & CEO, ALSAC

Dr. Reginald Coopwood

President & CEO, Regional One Health


Dr. Tracy Hall

President, Southwest Tennessee Community College

Dr. Steve Bares

Executive Director, Memphis Bioworks Foundation

Mr. Pitt Hyde

Trustee, Hyde Family Foundations


Mr. Doug McGowen

COO, City of Memphis

Ms. Jennifer Oswalt

President, Downtown Memphis Commission

Mr. Scott Blake

President, Victorian Village Inc. Community Development Corporation


Mr. Mike Todd

President, Edge Neighborhood Association